The Post That Didn’t Have a Title Till Now
December 18, 2008, 3:45 pm
Filed under: Blips, blogging, hope, humor, life, me, parenting

I know I did it again. I stepped out for a minute and come back and nothing is the same, yet it is. Didn’t ‘word’ just redo their formats and crap just last year? I was just getting to know you and now I don’t even know how to write a post.

*sigh*

My brain has been trained into some kind of short circuited loop. I start to write an email, a post, hell just three words in the search bar and I am redirected to the beckoning of a four year old. I get back on track , I’m almost there, and he is telling me he wants the latest thing on T.V., he needs a drink, he’s hungry, he wants to make cookies. And when he runs out of the regular things to say it turns into an endless bantering of “Watch me stand on my head for the one gazillionth time this week!” Or, “Do you remember that time we ate in that place where that guy had that thing?” He makes my head hurt sometimes. I’m going to miss him so much next year but I sure do pity his teacher.

Do you ever have more to do than you have time to do it? And it’s all very important but you know that unless you stay up all night long for the next week and chug gallons of hi test coffee there just won’t be enough time to get it done? How you look at the clock and think first that you have all afternoon and then second that it’s just not enough? It makes me want to sit down and read a book. Kind of a “If I can’t get it done then why do it at all’ attitude.

Add the two together and it takes an eternity to do anything. I started the dishes around noon and I just finished the last pan. It wasn’t anything too incredibly huge, just your average dirty mess from breakfast and endless snacks and a couple pans from the night before. This is where the ADD kicks in. One minute I’m shoveling toys off the floor and dragging mountains of laundry to the basement and then suddenly I straighten my back and stretch out my neck and realize I was supposed to be doing the dishes. So I stroll to the kitchen and dive back in only to realize that the water no longer has bubble and it’s cool enough to drink. So I had to draw more water and before I know it I’m upstairs for the fourth time helping Mr. Spill Something on my Pants Again find a clean pair. And that leads to sitting here rattling on letting you know that I am alive in a very round about way.

I have to go to the store now.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good to hear from you. I don’t know how I would have survived being a mom. My hat is off to you. I hope that you and your family have a wonderful Christmas.

Comment by DougT

Hi Heather!!
I too hope that your kids will look back on these days and realize what a wonderful mom you are..
Merry Christmas if I don’t “see” you around before!
🙂

Comment by Merri

There is always more to do than there is time.
So it is a matter of how we use our time, rather than trying to find some or make some.
I continually tell myself not to do all I want to do or ‘should do’.
In the end, doing the necessary things – like making cookies with the kids – is what really counts in the end.

Comment by urspo




Leave a Reply

