Work in Progress
November 24, 2008, 12:13 am
Filed under: Blips, dreams, events, fun, happiness, humor, life, me, nature, outdoors, parenting

So far so good.

This has been such fun. A couple highlights shall we?

The very first day of work was to paint up a handful of signs. I love to paint, I love the way it fits in my hand. Big or little I feel such power in a paintbrush.  Like how it would feel to paint the colors of the flowers and the sky. It could be anything. But I was stuck with red, green and black. I never did get back to paint the wreaths on them. You see my business partner was feeling ill that day. She ended up depositing her lunch in the flower bed and going inside to fall asleep in her coat and boots. It’s already funny.

So I finished the signs myself and rushed home to deal with my other life, I got one side painted and they are great! Then the next day I sat. I waited and waited for that Fed Ex guy. He came at eight thirty at night. We were just so bummed, an entire day shot to hell. Then the big day, we set up our table turned on our lights and proceeded to whip out a total of 7 wreaths in four hours. I stood at the door and scratched my head, surely I’m going to have to pick up the pace a bit here. That’s like, well that’s just nuts. So I went home fed the troops, did the dishes, threw in some laundry and got everyone bathed. But I couldn’t stop thinking about that tiny pile of wreaths in that cold dark barn. I had to go make more. So I piled on layer after layer and off I went, I think I got seven more done. It was crushing to think we had two days to do 150 rings, there was just no way with one machine. So Friday we set to work and finally I had gotten faster, she had mapped out what was needed to be cut and we formed the best wreath making team in the world. Really we did. But it still wasn’t fast enough. I again went home, fed the troops, and right back out the door. This time with TWO extra pairs of hands. Now we had someone to cut trees, feed kids, strip trees and bring us beer. At the end of the night I picked up my can and I got a mouth full of slushy beer. Just the way I like it but it meant I was withstanding the 24 degree cold too. (I shivered just thinking about it.) Then back home, after a  careful drive in slick icy conditions, in bed by midnight only to rise at seven and get back on the road. But this time we had THREE extra pairs of hands. It was such a relief.  My oldest found us a radio and cranked up a station of just Christmas tunes. We laughed. We worked. We bitched about our feet aching. Our tree cutter left for a little while to help fix someones leak and while he was gone we ran out of trees. Oh the horror! My oldest grabbed the funny looking saw, I forget what you call that thing, and went to the center of the patch for the biggest one he could find. He drug that puppy up to the barn and we were back in business. But while we waited for that to be trimmed he walked up to the house and brought me a hot dog, I had requested ketchup but he had forgot it. I said, “You’re never gonna believe this,” and I whipped out a packet of ketchup that was stashed in my coat. We roared over that one. We told other jokes and we planned out intricate practical jokes. I danced on purpose and I danced just trying to get to an itch, and everyone laughed both times. The very last wreath we made was a 36 inch frame and it took an entire tree! Amazing.

This is life. This is what I needed. I’m liking it.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

You sound happy – I am glad to know it.

Comment by urspo




Leave a Reply

