I Keep Looking Up
September 24, 2008, 2:03 am
Filed under: hope, life, me, nature, night, outdoors, sky, stars

Do you ever look at the sky at night and pick out a favorite constellation, planet or star?

Tonight as I stood out front I picked out Orion’s belt. Forever I have looked for his belt, since I first learned what those three beautiful stars were. The way they line up so perfectly all in a row in the scattered midnight sky. I noticed tonight how they hung so low most likely predicting the coming cold. They are always there for me, to pick out and  gaze upon. How I wish I could load up in a rocket and land on their shining mass. Like a vacation almost. I imagine landing, being the only soul there, having it all for me.

I don’t even care for the others. The seven sisters do not behold me the way his belt does. The dippers can not contain me in their emptiness. I have no longing to see Venus or ride the rings of Saturn. It’s just Orion. His belt beckoning me to be the buckle. When I talk of the stars with my son’s and we discuss the way that stars fade and burn out I always fear for that belt, wondering if some day it won’t be there for me in the quiet night waiting for me to drink in it’s gorgeousness. I think of how long it has been a part of the sky and how many millions of humans have looked at it and not even understood the endless history of those three perfectly aligned stars.

To have just that one stable part of life is all one needs to keep moving on. To know that there can be a constant in a world of change. That you can keep the beauty of something and yet still expand. Constantly yearning to create a perfectness to go with it.  Always changing. Life is always changing.  Sometimes I need rocks. Without them I am lost.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

