As If
August 8, 2008, 11:36 pm
Filed under: cooking, humor, marriage, parenting | Tags: , , , , ,

Remember yesterday? It was cut shorter than a quickie in a truck stop bathroom. As I was doing the dishes I was saying to myself literally out load that I could have anything I want for supper, the phone rang. I answered with reluctance and found that my youngest had been stung by a wasp. He is the one with the allergies and we had no idea if that included bees, wasps or aliens. So I had to jump in the car as a precaution so that I would be close should he have any kind of reaction. I was calm about it and agreed that I would come right away but inside my brain was stuttering, “Bbbbuut I haven’t eaten all day. I was, I was, I was going to eat something wonderful!!” *sigh* Maybe next time.

I did however end up swinging through a Burger King on the way home and I ordered a chicken sandwich with no mayo and the little ones got milkshakes. The man rang my card through, gave me my food and shakes and yet I still sat there. I was lost in thought and not totally in the moment. Then this little young thing swings the window open and says brightly, “Are you waiting for something?!” And I glance over at the passenger seat and saw my chicken warmly nestled inside it’s greasy paper bag and I looked at her and said, “No. Not anymore.” All the while noticing the big black guy that had rung me up snickering and shall I say cowering behind her. I don’t know what happened really. I was utterly shocked at the ginormous size of the milkshake they handed me for the kids and the straws were big enough to suck a hot dog through. I guess you could say it threw me for a loop.

Then today I woke up with a little pep in me. I felt constructive and energetic and made a full sized meal for lunch while cleaning out a cabinet long past it’s due and keeping up with dishes. It all came to a screeching halt when the husband appeared from his slumber, clearly in pain. He had re-injured his back. I pretended it wasn’t real at first, it can’t be happening. But after a trip to the drug store for milk and a nudge to make myself accept reality I accepted the words and tried to help. But there is nothing I can do. I can’t fix it. I can’t even tell him why it won’t heal. He is between a rock and a hard place and I just happened to be feeling some of the squish. The man has been back to work for a total of two days. And the real kicker is that they had him do what hurt his back in the first place way back in December. Why after months of not doing heavy duty work would they start him off right where he left off? It is insane that he wasn’t eased back into it. I’m just flabberagasted. And I should mention that it didn’t hurt until he came home. He must have thought he was super man or something. I just keep trying not to think about it and then I get myself started and I end up feeling defeated and wanting to just sit down and cry as if it would do any good. In two years he has worked a grand total of eleven months. After recovering from the two arm operations and finally returning to work this happens.  I’m going to stop talking about it now before I end up sobbing in the corner.

I made zucchini bread last night. the recipe called for olive oil which made me happy. I know there are healthier versions with applesauce but I found this one after searching a few of my cookbooks and that is the one I chose. It was really good but as with anything I cook there is usually some sort of destruction. When I went to remove them from the pans they came out without their bottoms on. Oooh! Scandalous! It didn’t even phase me, I’m getting used to being a horrible cook. It’s just not my thing. But the bread is divine and I shall share the recipe with you soon. And if you make it tell me all about it cause then I will know that you managed to read this entire very long post.

🙂

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

you are wonder woman, in your own way.

Comment by urspo




Leave a Reply

